top of page
Search
  • Teresa

Take Out Hero

One of the most amazing perks living in Richmond is the abundance of restaurants and variety of cuisine from all over the world steps away from home.


Supporting restaurants in our local community was not easy during COVID as there are many places, even now, are not accepting reusable containers from customers.

This has reverted back some of the zero waste initiatives and single use plastic bans but I am thrilled to find out that City of Richmond had decided to move forward with the Bylaw 10000 Single Use Plastic and Other Items that will be implemented by March 2022.









Luckily, I am a planner when it comes to my meals and it has helped me to find local spots that accept reusable containers before I go pick up my order. It is as simple as dialing the restaurant phone number and asking if they accept reusable containers for your takeout.


I find most of the time restaurants are willing to accept your container and some even offer a small discount as a token of appreciation for the environment.








Here are some tips that I found useful when requesting take out in your reusables:


1) Ask to put your meal on a dine in plate/ bowl and transfer to your container when you arrive.


2) Ask what size and how many containers should you bring so you are not short when you need to put the salad but no more container space.


3) Remember to request no cutlery and single serve sauces.











I appreciate every single restaurant that accepts reusable containers because it's very easy to just say no and go on with your regular routine (especially if the restaurant is busy).


Here are a couple of restaurants I've been to that accept reusables:



I hope you found this post useful for ordering takeout the more sustainable way.

I will continue to update this post for more restaurants that accept reusables!


xoxo

te.cycle

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Yorumlar


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page